my blog turned one and i, much older

It’s been a year since I started this thing, which means it’s also been a year since I graduated college. A year that I grew up too fast (which, for me, is inevitable being that I’m scared of irresponsibility). This past year has been the most confusing and difficult year of my life and one that I know will be one of the most rewarding because of that. I have a hard time looking at my struggles in complete self-pity (though that is not to say that self-pity never enters this equation).

I don’t know where I am going to end up. I don’t know where God is going to take me, but I know that he must be preparing me for something amazing (I hope). People don’t go through struggles without being strengthened by them and people don’t experience strengthening without a future need of it. Those are my philosophical words of wisdom for the day, I hope they are someday quoted, but that’s unlikely.

I have grown more confident in myself during this difficult year and use of this blog. I care less and less what people think which is both good and bad in my experience so far. I have learned so much through a time that was simply and solely dedicated to providing for my husband and I while he finished up school. I had not realized the extent of all I’ve learned until this moment.

I come away from this nostalgia with thinking only that…

I want to write, teach, photograph, sing and most of all, I want to do some good in the world. I have never been particularly good at one thing in my life, though I do have a great deal of passion. It’s often not backed by much—I’m all talk and no action, which makes me feel like the character Britta from “Community”. Nevertheless, the passion is there—it just needs to be directed toward one single thing long enough. This blog proves a years worth of focus on something…and I’m quite happy with that.

Happy Birthday Blog.

 “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

5 thoughts on “my blog turned one and i, much older

  1. Happy birthday to you and your blog! I can safely say the same about myself when it comes to being passionate and hardly following up talk with action! Keep the passion going. You’ll do good to the world! even if it’s making someone smile!

  2. New to your blog , all I can say is its pretty neat! the look and the writing are just beautiful! Kudos and keep blogging , looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

